Macro Photography Magic

Macro photography is wonderful, mysterious and fascinating. I was the kid with a microscope, peeking into unknown worlds, many years ago. Now I can do it with a camera, macro lens and macro extensions. Today no gardening, we’re rained off. My partner brought me flowers yesterday, so out came the camera and macro kit.

I’m always looking for  a new, fresh way to present flowers. After all, they are probably the most photographed subject apart from people. People don’t look good in macro and won’t stay still, so I prefer to work with nature, and flowers in particular.

So, today’s shots have been fun to do. Light levels were not brilliant as it’s raining, so I used a white reflector behind the flowers, raised the blinds in the conservatory and adjusted the exposure a little once I got the shots into the computer. Much has been said about photography and computers, and fierce debates continue, but I’m all in favour of any tool or paintbox an artist can utilise. Minor adjustments to improve photos can only be a good thing, in my book, and allow more flexibility to the ‘artist’.

Anyway, here are the results of todays fun. I hope you like them!

macro photo white dahlia

white dahlia macro

Perfect petals macro

Perfect petals macro

macro petals

Macro petals photo

vision-in-white

vision in white gypsophilla

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lyndajeffersphotography
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 15:48:54

    Beautiful, I especially love the gypsophilla :-)

    Reply

  2. Jon Vagg
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 16:00:58

    I like the first three – the colours and framing make them almost mystical and the ‘perfect petals’ pic has a slight menace to it as well, a bit like the ‘fingers’ of some undersea plants that draw in and trap unwary small creatures!

    Reply

  3. Julie
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 16:19:58

    Lovely post :) Gorgeous pics, I do like a good macro shot!

    Reply

  4. Martina
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 16:25:54

    Lovely macros.

    Reply

  5. bentehaarstad
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 20:51:46

    Yes, like them a lot! :)

    Reply

  6. dfortyex
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 01:10:11

    Perfect petals make me wanna jump right into it, and the petals would catch me! Love the gypsophilla too ♥

    Reply

  7. Priya
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 04:28:59

    Such beauty! And beautifully taken, too!

    Reply

  8. randywornhole
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 18:21:26

    stunning as always. xxx

    Reply

  9. chriscaff
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 19:04:23

    Thanks Randy, you’re too kind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

