Wildflowers in the spotlight

There are fields behind our house. I took a walk one day last week between downpours, and found many more wildflowers than I’d expected. The land appears to be just grazing meadow, so meadow flowers abound, and I thought it would be a crying shame not to do something with them. Hence the camera and my enthusiasm came out. It’s a pity the light didn’t. Even with a light conservatory, it was difficult to get enough light through the lens for my macro lens and tubes. In the end, I settled for my standard lens and the macro tubes to get the details I wanted as I didn’t want to resort to artificial light.

Bush Vetch

Wild Comfrey

Hawksbit

Black Meddick

I wanted to capture the beauty others miss. Either they wouldn’t even notice the flowers, as some of them are tiny, or they wouldn’t stop to look.  Maybe some of these photos will make you look twice next time you take a walk with the dog? If you click on the photos you can see them much larger and in more detail. I’m planning a set of wildflower photos in macro for my website, and therefore for sale, quite soon. I’m not sure if these are going to be the shots. Probably not. I’ll need better light to get the top quality shots I want, and time is important, as these flowers will only be around for a short while.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen Cousins Botanics
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 22:35:42

    Wonderful images – love your blog! Best wishes, Helen

    Reply

  2. squirrelbasket
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 06:22:58

    Lovely! I particularly like the way you’ve caught the comfrey :)

    Reply

  3. randywornhole
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 10:13:00

    fantastic as always xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

