A Day of Reflection

stream reflections

One of my poorly days today left me on the sofa with not much to do but think. I’ve worried about not being avante-garde enough (or at all) . I’ve worried that I’ll never ‘make it’ as a photographer. But I do believe in what I’m doing. I want to remind the world that it’s not all about economic consumption and waste. I want to remind them of where we came from and what is there to enjoy for free- which is of course the natural world we live in. There can’t be many who don’t know our world is under threat, so no need to bang on about it, really. Having said that, the more removed from our natural environment we are, the less important is seems. But without it where would we be? Apparently, a third of all British people surveryed did not know where oats or bacon comes from. Oats were maybe from trees and bacon from sheep. How SAD is that?  Perhaps somehow the artmakers of all kinds CAN make a difference- by reminding folk of what was here long before us, what we hope will still be here when we’ve gone and what they might find of beauty if they look.

If they SEE it maybe it will matter more. Who knows?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kseverny
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 23:32:05

    well that is a really good picture.
    the perspective of the river is great

    Reply

  2. chriscaff
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 14:55:13

    Thankyou! I’ve just been mooching round your website. There is some very intersting stuff on there. I particularly like the artwork drawings. The food looks tasty and I like the poetry. Very evoctive. As a northerner myself, it’s good to see new talent coming from there.

    Reply

  3. Pippa
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 14:34:14

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Chris. Your photographs are awe-inspiring and you provide much food for thought. I find it an absolutely worthy pursuit, making people more aware of the natural world we live in. Greater awareness is probably our only hope!

    Beautiful reflection (in both senses of the word!)

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Jan 26, 2010 @ 15:44:49

      Thanks for your kind remarks about my phots. What you say is so true. Education is the key, and making it as fun and beautiful as possible it seems to me is the only way to get people to take notice. Keep up the great work you’re doing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

