A Day at Rock Cemetary

Rock Cemetary, Nottingham

Hello again. It’s been a while. Illness still plaguing me, but I’ll spare you the boring details. I did manage a little photography trip out recently, though. I was looking for suitable shots for one of my agencies, arcangel-images.com. They supply a lot of work to book publishers of fiction, and a lot of that is horror, romance, thriller etc. So I went off to a fantastical cemetary in Nottingham called Rock Cemetary, which is literally carved into the rock. Goodness knows how hard it is to bury someone there! The effect is strange. You move around different levels of ground, surrounded at times with mini-rock faces fronted by tombstones and statues. Anyway, I got some good shots in the bag, was leaving after watching some workmen on the site moving a gravestone, and was approaching the exit when I spotted their work truck. Had it faced into the cemetary, (so the headstones and statues would have been in shot) instead of being parked facing away from it, I’d have had a shot to amuse. The sign in their truck said ‘when using this vehicle do not drop the body’. I’m sorry but I howled laughing. It lifted my spirits enough for the drive home after what had been quite a sombre afternoon.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kseverny
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 00:34:57

    thats pretty impressive.
    Amazing how great art can be found in a place of death

    Reply

  2. bubbleboo
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 19:45:33

    I love spending time snapping pictures in the local cemetary. It always amazes me how a simple change in the weather can create a whole different atmosphere, and completely different shots.

    Reply

  3. jonvagg
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 13:16:54

    Cool pic. More soon?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

