Birthday photographs

Mum on her big day

It was my mum’s 80th birthday way back in January. A big, family meal of four generations was planned. We all marked our diaries and looked forward to the big day. Then something totally unexpected happened. Britain had snow! It was so bad the week of the meal, my dad wisely cancelled, fearful of us all travelling from around the country and their own trip to the restaurant in the beautiful Ribble valley. What a shame! But we waited for the thaw and finally got together in mid February for a lovely meal and family gathering. The oldest was 81 and youngest not yet two. As I’m a photographer, though not normally concentrating on people, I made sure I covered the event. Then for mother’s day I had printed 50 of the best shots and put them in a gorgeous, hand-made paper, leather bound album and popped it in the post hoping it would be a nice surprise.

It was me that got the surprise. My dad was thrilled. It was he who sparked my interest in photography, and was his main hobby for most of his life. These days his hands aren’t too good, nor his legs. But his comments were a wonderful lift. Among them were ‘very professional looking’ and ‘wonderful’. Mum loved it too. Now so do I. As they live 130 miles away and I’ve been in no fit state to travel since the celebrations I’m so pleased I’ve managed to make them happy with my work, inspired by my dad, who now reckons I’m a ‘chip off the old block’.

Leave a Reply

