Pride, colour, pattern and the photograph

Whistles

It was Nottingham Pride last Saturday. I thought I’d go along again this year. So we packed up a picnic, and of course my camera, got on a train and spent a lovely afternoon at Forest Fields. It’s one place you can get out  a camera, start shooting and get tapped on the shoulder by strangers. They’re not complaining, not confronting the photographer, but asking for their photo to be taken. What a refreshing change! Lots of smiling faces, colourful sights and music. Lots to get creative about. I took 176 photos in a few hours, ran my camera battery down and flattened my own battery. I fell asleep on the sofa when we finally got home, exhausted but very happy with my busman’s day out.

I wanted to get the essence of the event. What makes a good iconic shot? I don’t know, but I try to find something a little different from the standard shots most people would point and shoot. I don’t know if I have managed to capture anything special, but I hope so. Having a good camera is all very well, but in the end, it’s the idea, the concept that I want to ‘bag’ at events like this. They’re not shots I would market on my website, but life moments I want to remember when I’m in my dotage.

Balloons at Pride

The lovely man selling balloons approached me at the end of the event. He wanted some pictures to help sell his wares. He explained he’s illiterate, yet he’s made a business, and his wife handles correspondence. Good for him! That’s what life’s all about. Of course, he can have copies of the shots, I told him, no problem. I came home on the train with a balloon he gave me, and had matched to the colour of my dress. Bless him. I just thought they made great abstract shots that would give me my memories!

Wave That Flag!

The flag, the balloons or the whistles? I don’t know which shot says the most about the day. There was colour, smiles and fun everywhere, despite protesters trying to stop the event, trying to put the LGBT community down, but look at them. Part of life, ordinary people, just different, as we all are, thank goodness. Diversity is absolutely essential to life. We couldn’t have evolved without it. Life is and should be colourful, happy and eventful if we look hard enough. Pagan Pride followed in Nottingham on the Sunday, and I would have attended that, too if I’d had the energy. It’s such a pity that we have to fight for the right to be different. Who wants to be a clone anyway? And who would decide what a clone should be? Which religion? which looks? what skills? Don’t we need them all, provided by different people?

Walk Tall whoever you are!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jonvagg
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 14:09:08

    I think with a Pride event, it’s the outrageous TVs who often capture people’s attention – the ones who look like they’ve just arrived from their sellout show in Las Vegas without having a chance to change their costume.

    That said, I think the whistles shot is iconic – rainbow colours, Pride labelling, and blue skies behind as a kind of message in metaphor – and the balloon shot is a very cool arty shot.

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Aug 03, 2010 @ 17:06:53

      Yes, I took some outrageous transvestite shots, too, but didn’t want them to be the iconic shots of the day! Thanks for your comments. They’re gratefully recieved!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

