Independent Camera Store Bites the Recession Dust

Goodbye Youngs, we'll miss you.

It’s a sad day, and a change from my usual photographically based blogs. But I have to say it. Sorry to see you go, Youngs Cameras! We are now a town with only one chain store camera shop. With Youngs has gone the valuable expertise of the extremely helpful staff, and a range of camera equipment and accessories I’ll now probably have to buy online. My partner found this out when he went to purchase a birthday present for me. There’ s a wish list he’s working from, most of which is stuff for my Nikon.

So today I went to get a photo or two, snapped between passing Christmas shoppers, just to say goodbye to the staff and wish them the very best of luck. I really hope Christmas isn’t too tough for them and their families. They were always very helpful, friendly and well-informed. We’ll miss them.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 47whitebuffalo
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 17:29:57

    I am so very sorry for this loss. Did they ever give any indication of their need for increased business in order to continue conducting business?
    Who needs another “chain store”? NOT ME.
    Hello.

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 18:40:50

      No, in fact the notice asking people to contact them re uncollected photos suggests it all happened very quickly. I’m sure they’d have preferred to have tried to get through Christmas. I had been stuck at home for a while poorly, but I’m sure we’d have heard something. Thanks for your input again Whitebuffalo.

      Reply

  2. mostlymonochrome
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 18:01:48

    This is very sad. I try to buy from the local non-chain stores when I can, although they don’t process black and white which is most of what I shoot.

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 18:24:09

      As long as we support what they do, we stand half a chance of keeping out independent shops, but sadly this wasn’t the case this time. Thanks for visiting my blog, and taking the time to comment.

      Reply

  3. Enivea
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 21:49:25

    I agree, it’s always a shame when independents fall prey to the chain stores. There’s more to people’s purchasing decisions than just dollars – but sadly many will only realize this when it’s too late – good service is almost an endangered species now.

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 21:55:06

      How true! They had been there as long as I’ve lived lived in this town, and it’s very sad. Why don’t we appreciate good personal service any more? The chain stores just don’t have the knowledge and treat us as numbers. Shame. Thanks for calling and commenting!

      Reply

  4. Jon Vagg
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 23:20:42

    This recession seems to be the end of a lot of small companies – apart from Youngs, who’ve been in town ever since I moved here, we’ve lost the only independent bookshop and a bunch of other small businesses. And the pity is, the Youngs people were probably the best-informed and most helpful people locally not just for photography but for telescopes, binoculars and other stuff as well. It’s not just losing the shop, it’s losing that pool of expertise.

    I hope the guys who worked there have found other jobs, or maybe are able to start up some other operation that doesn’t have the overheads of a shop – I’ve been finding all kinds of people recently who’ve closed shops and now sell online, from home, but at the same time are local and you can phone them or meet them easily.

    Reply

  5. Kai Brockbank
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 18:23:35

    It does seem a pity for a small shop to go out of business. I’ve always found people in independent shops to be much more friendly (or at least in a more natural way, as opposed to fake smiles!) and generally much more helpful and knowledgeable in their own field.

    Reply

  6. karenstuebing
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 22:09:37

    This is a sad story and commentary on small businesses everywhere. People are just too lazy to go to the little independent guy on main street when they can do all their shopping in one mall. They don’t care they lose expertise and personalized service by doing that. I always support my local businesses and I guess in the end, that’s all we can do and hope they make it. Maybe the Young’s can start a online business and work out of their home.

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 06, 2010 @ 22:13:30

      Yes, I hope so Karen. I have to agree with you. My parents had their own business until they retired, and worked very hard to produce top quality for their customers. I know how difficult it is to run a a business, hence my own sadness at them going. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and of course for visiting my blog. you’re welcome anytime.

      Reply

  7. Francis
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 16:46:45

    The same story repeating itself all over the world. Very sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

