Creativity In The Face Of Adversity

Frozen cage

Here’s a lesson I’ve learned. I thought I’d pass it on. There’s is ALWAYS a way to make a negative into a positive if you look hard enough. Yesterday I woke to my computer throwing a strop. Nope, can’t find server. No, can’t get email. Sigh. What now. Well, to cut a long story short, writing my blog, getting some new photos and working on my website had to be put to one side to fix the bloomin’ PC. It took all day, lots of trial and error, the blue screen of death at one point and finally backing up everything in safe mode before giving up on it for the day. I have my laptop, but only got it last week so all my photos and editing software aren’t installed. So I was stuck.

Spooky Tree

I sat down about 11pm having decided that the PC would have to go and be sorted under its’ guarantee thoroughly fed up. Then I went to the window and saw my squirrel-proofed bird feeder and had an idea. Despite being tired, the idea gave me the kick I needed to get my camera and go out in minus ten for a quick experiment. Using the on board flash and manual focusing via light from the window, I took a few shots. Here are the results. I shot in RAW, reviewed the results on camera and poured myself a nice, warming brandy. Today while I was at an important appointment my partner took my PC to be sorted, bless him. Then, I sat down tonight and did a bit of photo editing.

The bird feeder, as with the other shots, was lightened using exposure control to get the white really white (flash gave me a grey cast as it was so dark). Then I adjusted light and shade using the curves control. For the spooky tree, I also adjusted, in the black and white controls, the colour sliders. (This might seem strange, but colours have shades in black and white that can be adjusted one by one to get the shades as you want them. I wanted to darken some of the branches to make them stand out more).

Frozen Branches

I hope you like the results. Please let me know if you do.

So, out of a rotten day I managed to come up with something that at least made me feel I’d got something positive out of the day. I have a full up to date backup of all my work, a new idea that for me has worked and I also have my blog. Now it’s all yours. Remember, creativity can rule over adversity!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 23:44:44

    Oh yes, aren’t computers a wonder. Lovely at times, and !@?!! at other times. But really like the b&W photos. and the change in depth of field in the last one as well as the range of tonal values. from Jane of “My Heartsong”

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 07, 2010 @ 23:55:02

      Thanks Jane. I have to agree about PCs. Wonderful and dreadful all at the same time. Thanks for visiting and taking time to comment. Always appreciated.

      Reply

  2. 47whitebuffalo
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 01:47:42

    Creativity–sounds like a segement of Art of the Song. Hope all stays up and running for you now.

    Reply

  3. gilsongardensinc
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 14:22:55

    Isn’t it inspiring to have a really crappy day and be able to turn it around! Good for you! Love the photos!

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 08, 2010 @ 15:00:24

      Thanks Gilson! Yes, it made my day. Then yesterday the world turned into a Christmas card (we’re not used to the effects of minus 8 in the daytime). It was stunningly beautiful. The birds are needing lots of food, though!

      Reply

  4. Miss Morgans 365 Days of Photos
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 16:29:51

    I love how informative you are in your posts. It really helps a beginner like me understand a little more. 🙂 Love your photos!

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 08, 2010 @ 18:32:20

      Thanks Miss Morgan. I’m glad you’re finding the posts helpful and that you like my photos. Thanks for visiting and commenting, too. I see you’ve subscribed, so I hope my future posts are just as enjoyable for you.

      Reply

  5. eremophila
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 21:10:47

    I love the manner in which you seized the opportunity offered. It’s by stepping out of our ‘normalcy’ that we expand our creativity and find solutions unexpectedly. Well done – great images!

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 08, 2010 @ 23:21:39

      Hello again Eremophila, and thanks. We need to step outside of the box, otherwise the sides of it block our view. It’s great to hear from so many creative people. Isnpirational in fact.

      Reply

  6. Positive Polly
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 23:42:50

    It’s wonderful that you had a positive from a negative. 🙂
    I could be biased that way though LOL

    Love the bird feeder – it reminds me of something from the older Rangefinder series with those strong contrasts and grain. Nicely done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

