Here They Are. My new pet rats. Gorgeous!

Dusk

It’s Sunday, I’m still way behind with all that there is to do, so here are the photos I promised of my new pets for those of you who asked to see them. Say hello to Dusk and ‘Tilldawn. I can’t do a full blog right now, so I’ll leave you to get acquainted.Β  They are quite shy yet, so no sudden noises please. πŸ™‚ They are more scared of you that you could ever be of them!

Dusk

Tilldawn

Tilldawn

I hope you like them as much as I love ’em. They’re really sweet – even though they’re not used to being handled very much they’ve allowed us to hold, stroke and play with them and are getting used to our voices. They posed well for their portraits, don’t you think?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 47whitebuffalo
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 20:48:02

    They look like they’re ready to wander right off the screen. LOL. They are indeed quite engaging, Chris. Thanks so much for sharing them.

    Reply

  2. lazfreedman
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 21:36:59

    Definitely, they will make great friends…!
    Interestingly: Fancy Rats, you may enjoy enjoy this poem,
    feel free to visit any time,if you like
    Peace to you, and yours
    Laz

    Reply

  3. Jon Vagg
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 00:18:27

    Cute. And contrary to many people’s beliefs, very clean and very intelligent pets. They have this teeth-clicking sound they make as if they’re trying to have a conversation with you. Hope you enjoy them!

    Reply

  4. JackPDB
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 02:41:53

    They are lovely pets indeed, and quite clever. And I love the fact that you’ve got the yin-yang variety pack; Dusk is very handsome. Best of luck with them both!
    – – – – – – –
    Jack@PDB
    dog beds and more

    Reply

  5. dfortyex
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 08:22:54

    Thank you for putting them up Chris! I’m in love with Dusk =p

    What’s sad though is that I had a dead one in my cube this morn. Facility set some cage traps over the weekend to get the rest of em. =(

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 16:01:55

      Thanks dfortyex. Yes, dusk is lovely. He’s the tamer of the two. Sorry to hear about the dead one. It’s a shame the wild ones cause us humans so much trouble and carry disease. They really suffer for that!

      Reply

  6. eremophila
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:50:39

    Thanks for the lovely images of your new friends! Have you seen the work of Ellen van Deelen and her rats? http://www.redbubble.com/people/ellen
    I look forward to hearing of their exploits:-)

    Reply

  7. crazygoangirl
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 12:23:37

    These are cool and you’re right – they have posed pretty well! I’m not too fond of rats but these two look cute. Not to offend Tilldawn or anything but Dusk is my favorite! Enjoy your new pets πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Michelle
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 12:58:13

    Oh my gosh! So cute! I used to have pet rats – people think they’re creepy for some reason but I absolutely love them. They’re awesome pets! Congrats…andgreat shots πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

