Baby Rats Photos. Progress report

Dusk2

rat7

Well, we’ve now had Dusk and Tilldawn a week. They had been kept by the pet shop for over a month and hadn’t been handled enough. So it’s taken a few days for them to come around. Dusk is a brave little soul and was soon standing by the door of their cage waiting to be picked up. Tilldawn was more nervous, though and hid in his nest every time he heard the cage being touched. He’d come for a treat but NO WAY was he going to be picked up. But patience has won out and last night he laid on my shoulder chattering if I dared stop stroking him. When I finally gave up because my arm was aching, he walked round to the back of my neck, laid down and fell asleep. I think he now understands he’s safe with me.

rat2

rat1

Dusk, as I’ve said, is a bold little thing. He’s also a bit strange! I have an old stainless steel butter dish I never use, so decided it would make a good food dish to put their nuggets in. Dusk thinks it’s a great place to sleep. So, if I can, I’ll get a photo of a rat in a butter dish! I personally would find stainless steel a bit cold, especially in winter, but he seems to like it.

rat6

My partner made me laugh. He’s been laughing at me because I talk to the rats and explain what I’m doing (you know, ‘come on, I’m not going to hurt you, you’re safe.’ That sort of thing). Then I heard him talking in the kitchen. What was he doing? He’d found a stray woodlouse climbing up the blind. It must have come in through the window. What did I hear him say? ‘I’m afraid you’re going to have to be evicted. I know it’s cold out there but it’s too dry in here. Go and huddle against the house wall.’ And he thinks I’m mental!!! I didn’t ask him what the woodlouse’s reply was.

rat4

rat5

Still working on my website. I was going to order up the prints I wanted to check for quality but given the postal delays and warnings from my pro-printer service, it might be wise to let this snow disappear and get Christmas out of the way before I put more work up for sale.

rat8

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eremophila
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 22:32:38

    They are making great progress, love seeing and hearing about them♥

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 18, 2010 @ 22:35:23

      Thanks! They are so sweet and good de-stressing time when I play with them. I’ve been doing computer stuff and it drives me CRAZY when it takes three hours to sort out one little thing you want it to do! So, when they wake up I’ll be playing….

      Reply

  2. 47whitebuffalo
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 04:07:08

    I don’t think either of you is ‘mental’ for speaking to other living things. More likely a sign of healthy sanity. Keep it up.

    Great photos of your new family members!
    Peace

    Reply

  3. Shivya
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 16:17:16

    Aww they’re so cute! Remind me of my hamsters when they were younger 🙂

    Reply

  4. randywornhole
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 09:51:32

    I don’t have any pets at all, and living on the first floor very little “wild life” scampering around, apart from my partner that is. lol I talk to most things in my flat, it gets quite strange when alter egos talk to each other….but then again it has been established I am quite mad. LOL
    Glad you’ve got knew rats, at least they listen to you and don’t dissappear to the Office. lol

    Reply

    • 47whitebuffalo
      Dec 20, 2010 @ 16:17:06

      Randy–You ARE funny! I can way too easily imagine you having conversations with the ‘things’ in your apt. Have you written this up as a play? Seriously–the comedy could work on multiple levels and styles. Oh yeah. Talking into ‘silence’ with the kitchen faucet to having the refrigerator TALK back with sarcasm every time it’s opened. And everything in between….Oh yeah—this has gads of possibilities!!!!! LOL.

      Reply

      • chriscaff
        Dec 20, 2010 @ 17:08:18

        Hi White buffalo. Yes, he is funny! I’m lucky to have Randy as a friend! He has often cheered me up with a few words on the phone. As a live comedian he’s hilarious!

    • chriscaff
      Dec 20, 2010 @ 17:06:44

      Randy-Listen both of you. Stop arguing in that flat! if you and alter-ego can’t get on, one of you will have to move out. And last time I was there I didn’t see anything scampering around except alter-ego.

      Reply

  5. 47whitebuffalo
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 20:41:08

    I believe you, chris–and it sounds like Randy is a gem.

    Reply

  6. randywornhole
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 00:12:40

    Nothing in my kitchen is talking to me at the moment, as I still haven’t finished renovating it. I miss my old washing machine I had to replace it. It was much more friendly than the one I have now, this one is too quiet and doesn’t follow me round the kitchen when it gets to spin cycle. Its really strange being stalked by your washing machine.
    Unfortunately Chris, as you know, we are many alter egos, me, Randy, Major Eyeswater, the ice queen, Joe Le Taxi etc we are legion lol

    Reply

  7. Miss Morgans 365 Days of Photos
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 06:00:51

    I love rats! And I dont know how you didnt get at him a bit about that. In a teasing way of course. I wouldnt have been able to stop myself. Always up for a good laugh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

