Pride of Place. The Photograph, the Memory and the Art

I don’t ALWAYS take pictures of nature. Sometimes I try to capture human nature. Especially the exotic variety. So, at the end of 2010, here are some thoughts, some photos and some memories I don’t think I’ve shared until now. Back in August, I went along to Nottingham Pride where my friend Randy Wornhole always goes to promote his charity work for gay men. It’s a very colourful, friendly affair and I love it. It’s a place to find the exotic of our species. They display their colours, their feathers and their gentle nature for all to see and photograph. I thought they’d make you smile.

The real Police behind bars at Pride

Randy Wornhole, Comedian and Philanthropist

 

Despite all that was going on around me and all the wonderful characters, I ended up at the borders of the park attracted by the dahlia walk, which provided exotica of another kind, and resulted in a wonderful Christmas present. One of my photos on a large canvas on my lounge wall. I’m hoping to start putting these up for sale next year on my website. Here’s the photo I’m so proud of now being displayed, and it was taken at Pride!

Dahlia copyright caffimages.co.uk

So, if that tells you anything, it has to be don’t just go out with a closed mind to photograph one thing. If I’d done that, I’d have some great shots of Pride and some great memories but would not have several great photos of flowers I love but don’t have room to grow myself. What art would be on my wall then?

Next year, I intend to keep my mind open to any and all new possibilities for pictures that are exciting, different, beautiful, interesting…the list goes on. I’ll be happy to put 2010 behind me – it’s been a tough year. I’m now clear of responsibilities that stole my time and can now spend that time on working towards my goals. I hope you can do the same. Do more of what you’re good at and makes you happy, fellow bloggers! That’s what will work for you. And HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

These are for the party…

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jon Vagg
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 21:33:47

    Hmmm… if anyone was going to be arrested, I wonder whether they’d prefer to be arrested by the cops in the first pic or the second…

    And the balloon shot is a great motif for all the good things that have happened in 2010.

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Dec 29, 2010 @ 21:46:08

      LOL I think they’d prefer the first if they had to be arrested! Yes, baloons galore. Parties, colour, fun… nice things to think about to blot out the less favourable stuff. Happy new year.

      Reply

  2. mostlymonochrome
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 00:19:51

    Great shots.

    Reply

  3. chriscaff
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 00:21:57

    Thanks! Happy New Year.

    Reply

  4. Francis
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 02:26:57

    Great pictures, all of them.

    Reply

  5. chriscaff
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 10:40:04

    Thank you Francis. Happy new year.

    Reply

  6. eremophila
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 11:24:08

    The first group of pictures brought back memories of similar events I’ve attended in the past.
    The dahlia is magnificent, and most befitting a special place in your home.
    But what really gets me in the image of the balloons – reminding me to be bright and full of energy.!
    Best wishes for a wonderfully fulfilling New Year!

    Reply

  7. chriscaff
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 12:06:32

    Thanks Eremophila. Yes, those balloons were brilliant. The man that sells them is lovely. He has his own little business in Nottingham and gave me a balloon to bring home. I kept it until it went down as it reminded me of a great day, just like a child! Happy New Year to you.

    Reply

  8. randywornhole
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 11:28:45

    OOps…..the first picture was slightly scary…think the drag queen in the middle might be part of my “back catalogue”, if you know what I mean lol.
    The image of me is a good representaion of me that time of the day, I had been awake since 5.30am getting things ready for the day. Fond memories, thanks Chris x

    Reply

  9. chriscaff
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 16:16:44

    LOL They were fun to be around. You were great on the day. Glad you like the post, Randy. Happy New Year!

    Reply

  10. Robin
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 13:28:49

    I love these shots. They are fun and colorful and… fun! šŸ˜€

    Happy New Year, Chris!

    Reply

  11. dfortyex
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 19:07:42

    Love the flower & balloons shots! Happy New Year Chris!

    Reply

  12. chriscaff
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 19:30:57

    Thanks dfortyex. Happy new year to you too. I love that flower, especially since I saw it on canvas!

    Reply

  13. dfortyex
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 19:32:05

    Would u please take a shot of it? As in the canvas, in your lounge wall =p

    Reply

  14. chriscaff
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 19:39:14

    LOL will try, although the coating they’ve put on to protect it has a sheen that’s so far spoiled any shots I’ve tried to take. That said, with the bug I’ve had over the holiday I’ve not had much patience. Watch this space!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

