Think Abstract for Something Different in your Album

I fought shy of doing abstract when I first took up photography with serious intent. I wanted to record things exactly as they are. Then I realised I was missing a lot of good interesting shots that were no less valuable, either to my art form or my albums.

So I started thinking differently about my composition and what I’d be prepared to shoot. One night, while accompanying my partner on a business trip to Glasgow we sat in the hotel restaurant watching the rain. I noticed the lights outside and their distortion caused by the wet glass. One quick shot later I had this.

Rain

Here, I went to the Botanic gardens and for a moment took my eyes off the plants and flowers and looked up. Kibble Palace

This next one hasn’t been cropped and I grant you should be, but I wanted to show you the original effect. You can see how it could be cropped on both sides to get a more balanced. picture. I could also have turned the camera sideways, of course, but the effect was only possible if I used one hand to touch the plasma ball. Assistant please!

DSC_3086

IMG_4736

And the one above is a close-up of the inside of a tepee. I looked up again! Of course I have the photos of the interior and of my friends inside it, but I value these less common images. They make me smile, agencies quite like them and they do serve as reminders of the time I took them They are also a talking point when others are look through my albums. So add a little something unusual to your collection of photos. Don’t just take snapshots, but look for the abstract to get something a bit more arty.

And finally…

IMG_4698

I’ll leave you to wonder what this is.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. J DUBBS
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 21:47:18

    i love the distorted lights & raindrops shot. beautiful images

    Reply

  2. lindsaydenice
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 21:52:09

    i agree – the raindrops shot is my fav too – nice work!

    Reply

  3. eremophila
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 22:02:17

    “Recording things as they are” – this I understand, yet it all depends on how they are viewed….. It’s good to put on “another different pair of eyes” with which to view the world. When a name cannot be put to it – then freedom is reached:-)

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Jan 09, 2011 @ 23:31:58

      Yes, I know what you mean Eremophila. I suppose I wanted ‘realistic’ images, but of course it’s all in the eye of the beholder, and only my vision of the world. And some things cannot be described with words…or indeed pictures

      Reply

  4. sheila365
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 22:03:57

    i absolutely love the raindrops shot. i’ll keep your suggestion to think abstract in mind next time I walk about with my camera.

    Reply

  5. Coralie Plozza
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 22:23:18

    good for you branching out and experimenting I have recently started taking my nature images and adding photoshop effects to them to artify them .. for those that don’t really like photos on their walls. Keep up the great work

    Reply

  6. shannon*bear
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 03:18:33

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE the photo of the tepee! I’m working on acquiring enough canvas to make my own for our living room ;]

    Reply

  7. Squirrelbasket
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 06:30:17

    Love this post – and as a former archaeologist I think I know what that last one is, but I’ll say nothing…

    I have often admired rain on the kitchen window at night and thought of photographing it – it reminds me of tiny beads on velvet. But what makes your picture is the diagonal streaks and – of course – those brilliant lights (remind me of translucent snail eggs)…

    Keep up the good work
    x

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 12:23:22

      Archaeoligist? Wow, that’s something I’m fascinated by and love to watch all those TV programmes about it. What a wonderful career to have had. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply

  8. randywornhole
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 12:38:24

    As you know, my mind works in abstract most of the time, which is why, when I open my mouth, even I’m not sure what will come out. Having said that I love these images, BRILLIANT!!

    Reply

  9. hemlock1981
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 16:42:09

    Glad to hear you found the wonderful world of abstract. It is amazing to see what is there when we turn our head after opening our eyes.

    Great captures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

