Birthday Wanderings into Beauty

Weir 1

It is my partners birthday today. We decided to take time out from computers and visit a previously unexplored local haven, Watermead Country Park near Leicester. What a gorgeous afternoon! The first thing we saw when entering the park was a weir, and I had to play. So I’ve given you three of the shots taken each with a different effect in mind. They are abstract shots, and all I changed between each was the shutter speed, then a little curve readjustments to get the effects I have done. On the last shot of the three, you can see the swirling water in front of the weir.

Weir 2

Weir 3

We watched herons fly overhead and glide down onto a lake, saw cormorants (I think) roosting in the trees and a beautiful sunset. We had to wrap up warm, but just look at the colour for this time of year! Imagine my delight, too when we found catkins. Looking up at them the contrast with the sky was stunning, so I had to show you. So today is all about winter wonder and my partners birthday.

Catkins

Gorgeous sunset

Watermead Country Park

Sunset at Watermead

We came home and had a lovely meal, candlelit of course. He’s now busy blogging, so I’m taking a moment to get this post out to you. I’m investigating some nifty websites with Photoshop tutorials. When I’ve finished going through them I’ll pass them on to you. Photoshop is and amazing programme that seems to have endless possibilities, and for those of you who, like me, want to do more with their photos than just shoot and post, I’m hoping to find some new ways of using Photoshop to enhance or even transform the humble photo.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jon Vagg
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 22:56:47

    The weir shots are fantastic. Weir 1 looks almost like a closeup of some model done in wire, and Weir 2 like it was made from a metallic thread. I guess making abstract shots from nature is often a case of how you frame the shot?

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 23:25:53

      Hi Jon, thanks for commenting. Yep, framing, white balance and that all important sunlight to give the water sparkle. Shutter speed is important, too. The faster the shutter speed, the more the water is ‘frozen’. Slower shutter speed make the flow look softer.

      Reply

  2. dfortyex
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 00:50:12

    Love the 1st shot, it does not look like water at all! Looks metalish! And happy blated bday to ur partner btw, hope u guys had a good one 😉

    Reply

  3. chriscaff
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 01:15:56

    Thanks dfortyex! I’ll pass on your birthday wishes. Yes, it was a lovely day, thanks again.

    Reply

  4. crazygoangirl
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 14:09:53

    Love Weir 3 and the sunsets of course 🙂 In my opinion, spending a birthday with Nature is a fabulous way to celebrate 🙂 If you find easy to follow Photoshop tutorials online , please share! Would really appreciate it. I have Elements and I know it can do much more for me than I know how!

    Reply

  5. Robin
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 21:55:01

    I love the weir shots. What a beautiful day you and your partner had. I can’t think of a better way to spend a birthday! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Richard ppco
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 00:44:04

    How are you, looking through your blog, amazing images, they have great depth, chrisp and tell of each moment.
    look forward to meeting up. Yes, we m ust meet up. We’ll have to push that boyfreind of yours.

    Reply

  7. jruthkelly
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 14:51:20

    lovely images…sounds like a wonderful day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

