Sad Goodbye to Rats

dusk

It was a very sad day on Tuesday. I had to say goodbye to my lovely, tame, friendly, personality-filled rats Dusk and Tilldawn. We’ve both been suffering sinus and chest problems since a bug at Christmas, and after a break away realised it was rat dander causing my partner’s recently resumed asthma attacks and aggravating my sinus problems. No amount of hoovering, dusting and cleaning helped. So, we took them to a re-homing centre having failed to find a new home ourselves. They were great and will find a good, loving home for them. Still, I miss them running to the cage door every time I went close, and playing with them on the sofa. They loved human company and I enjoyed theirs. Now I just have tropical fish and the wild birds that come to feed in my garden. Sigh!

Dusk

Tilldawn

Before they went I had a last photo shoot with them, so here are some goodbye shots of them. I apologise for not posting as often recently. Things have been a wee bit hectic, and that coupled with poor health has made it hard to keep going never mind catch up. But I’m going to a 65th birthday party this weekend in Yorkshire, so should have some new photos for you and a tale or two on my return. The birthday boy is a photographer, too, so we’re going to spend some time swapping notes and going out for a shoot if the weather’s dry enough to get out.

Tilldawn

Bye, my freinds

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 47whitebuffalo
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 06:30:01

    Oh Chris! I’m so sorry. I hope they and you adjust to this parting.

    Reply

  2. SWK
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 01:16:28

    Very sorry to hear…

    Reply

  3. Robin
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 01:26:12

    Awww… I’m sorry. This is so sad. It’s hard to say goodbye to animals that have become part of your life.

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Mar 16, 2011 @ 19:02:34

      Thanks Robin. Still missing them but the birds haven’t deserted me. In fact we have starkings nesting right above my bedroom. Soon ther’ll be the pitter patter of tiny feet.

      Reply

  4. randywornhole
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 18:32:05

    ahhhh bless em.
    bet you’ll miss them xxx
    you’ll have to be content tickling Jon’s ears lol

    Reply

  5. susanne
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 16:13:52

    Hi there…..what a FAB weekend!! Can’t wait for the next gathering!

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

