Spring’s Spectacular Displays

Tulip Tarda Macro

Hyacinth Macro

Primula Denticulata close-up

Fritillaria Milleagris

Bee Fly

Spring Finally arrived, bringing colour and life into my garden. Hooray! It’s hard NOT to be dazzled by the sheer exuberance of spring flowers. They shine out even on the gloomiest of days, announcing their wares to the insect world. While taking my photos of these glorious blooms something caught my eye. I thought at first it was a busy bee. I tried to capture its image on a hyacinth, but it didn’t stay put long enough and I chased it around the flowers until it landed where I feed the birds. Here it sat, grooming itself as I watched it through my Zoom macro lens. I found out later it’s a bee fly. They sip nectar as adults, but lay their eggs in solitary bees nests, where the grubs hatch out and feed on the bee grubs. Gruesome yet fascinating. Everything seems to have parasites, once you look closely enough.

Anyway, it hasn’t deterred my enthusiasm for spring. I wish I had the energy to jump up and down about it. Writing and taking photos and smiling like a Cheshire cat will have to do. Happy spring, folks everywhere. What’s blooming in your garden?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ash
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 19:49:47

    Great pics Chris! We have similar tastes in subject matter it appears!

    Reply

  2. inquisitorial
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 21:54:24

    absolutely wonderful flowers, very detailedly potrayed.

    Reply

  3. randywornhole
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 20:26:34

    love the images…a Bee Fly? sounds like a budget airline, never heard or seen one before so thanks. Your blogs are always very educational xx

    Reply

  4. jessiethought
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 21:13:39

    Cool pics! Bee fly and fritillaria are my favorites.

    Reply

  5. EternalForms
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 13:02:01

    great photos, Chris! i love the frittillaria. And I’ve never heard of or seen a bee fly before! how weird. but you’re right, for everything there’s something else competing with it (or preying upon it!) for survival!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

