Have You Had Your Daily Dose Of Beauty?

beauty abounds

It’s about time. There is so much horrible stuff going on in the world I thought a timely reminder that there is free beauty out there we can all share just might be welcome. It’s easy to get caught up in all the war and nastiness, the economic doom and gloom and walk around with clouds around our heads. But if we blow the cobwebs away, perhaps with a short walk or drive into the countryside, perhaps just a stroll round the garden and open our eyes, beauty is all around us. My garden has been adopted by a baby blackbird who obviously left the nest a few days early. He sits listening to me when I go out to throw him some mealworms and apple to feed him up, then dives straight onto the food. He is gorgeous! I can’t show you, because the danger of me taking the camera out there is that he’ll panic and end up food for a local cat.

Calendula beauty. Pure sunshine in a flower

But flowers don’t get frightened! So today’s pictures are here as testimonial to the wonderful world we live in, even if us humans do make a mess of it, the beauty still abounds, and we should hang onto it with all our might. Some of these shots were taken before I bought my trusty Nikon, but nonetheless remind me of lovely times of gorgeousness that helped me switch my brain into a more positive mode. I hope they do the same for you.

Mint. Beautiful flavour, beautiful flowers

Spring has brought me inspiration. I’ve been taking photos, seeing friends (it was a long, lonely winter) and working on new projects. I discovered a couple of weeks ago a site called Squidoo. What fun! And it’s somewhere I can showcase my work with photography and with Zazzle. Having started with WordPress last year as a reluctant technophobe, I appear to be well and truly hooked on computer wizardry. I’ve been so wrapped up in all of this I hadn’t realised I’d been neglecting my blog. oops! Finding the time to do everything is getting more difficult, but I can’t complain. At least all of this keeps me busy and making lots of new cyberfriends. In case you’re interested, Squidoo is a great site for doing very tightly focussed ‘lenses’ that deal with one subject and really go into detail about it, usually with accompanying links to relevant sites and helpful hints and tips, plus where to buy relevant stuff. It’s quite easy to get lost in it for hours – much like on WordPress. I’ve so far made eight of these lenses, some of which are photography and flower ones. It gives me the opportunity to write about subjects that wouldn’t really fit under a general photography blog like this one, so I feel the two compliment each other. You might want to take a peek at my Grow Hellebores in Your Garden  lens or Spirals or even wild flower garden one.

Happy Spring!
9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Touch2Touch
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:18:23

    Thanks for today’s post, Chris. It’s very timely, as I’m feeling namelessly, causelessly, blueish; and so many bloggers I follow seem to be feeling the same. It’s nice to have this reminder — and portrait — of beauty.

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:29:35

      Hi thereTtouch2Touch. I do hope you can find some beauty to cheer you up. There’s plenty of it in the world. Just put on the flower-tinted glasses. 🙂

      Reply

  2. anonnickus
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 21:03:53

    Happy Spring to you as well. That arrangement of colour and line is beautiful.

    Reply

  3. gilsongardensinc
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 17:54:25

    Terrific photos! I love the calendula! You can almost feel the sunshine on that flower! Thanks for sharing! I took some great annual shots yesterday….hoping to share soon! Time gets away from you ya know?

    Reply

  4. Ric Sharples
    May 05, 2011 @ 08:42:10

    you really know how to cheer people up. Living in an apartment with no access to outside space, I love looking at your pics of nature. Any advice on what to plant in hanging baskets on an exposed fire escape? I thought alpines would be a good idea, I always forget to water regularly so thought these would be a little hardy. Any advice would be appreciated.

    Reply

  5. perfectpoetry
    May 17, 2011 @ 00:24:59

    I love the happy spring photo, all are great but this photo is just stunning.
    May have to put pen too paper with this wonderful image in mind. x

    Reply

  6. Shivya
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 09:45:17

    Thanks for that reminder of beauty. It was much needed 🙂 The flowers are indeed beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

