Wildlife Photos in the Garden

It’s been a while since I posted, and for several good reasons. One, my parents needed help and live 120 miles away, so travel was necessary, taking me away from the computer and time to write. Two, my son had a birthday for which I did a party involving people travelling and staying with us and three, we’ve found a house we love and are frantically promoting the sale of our current residence so we can move. The new house is a bay fronted semi, backing onto fields. It has 120ft long garden where I can grow food and flowers, encourage wildlife and have some peace and quiet, something in short supply in my current home. I can’t wait.

Gardening organically has already had its rewards for me. I’ve had plenty of birds visiting for years, but I’m delighted to introduce you to Jimmy, my resident hedgehog. He/she (they’re not easy to sex) first appeared at my feet when I sat out in the garden at  midnight one July night after returning from a trip. I thought I was very lucky to see one close up for the first time in my longish life. What I didn’t expect was to find he’d moved into the garden and taken up residence in a garden sack of clematis prunings I’d put aside for the next fire. He’s made a cosy nest in there and now comes to my back door every night for his supper before going off foraging. Of course, I had to get some photos of him and here he is.

Jimmy the Hedgehog

Jimmy the Hedgehog

He didn’t mind at all that I was laid on the ground right in front of him and using flash. He just carried on munching his supper. When we move, I’m taking him with me. The estate we’re on now is surrounded by busy roads and lots of big dogs. Where we are going he’ll have the run of my garden and all the surrounding gardens and fields, never needing to go near a road. As hedgehogs are now endangered I hope this will help just a tiny little bit.

We’ve had other wildlife in the garden, too. I try to photograph it whenever I can. It’s great to see diversity coming back to what was once a patch of scrubby couch grass and not much else. Earlier this year I had a plague of blackfly. It didn’t take long, though for the ladybird brigade to turn up and help me out with them. I’ve never seen so many ladybirds before on one plant. These two obligingly posed for me on a nice, still day.

Ladybird Friends

Mother and son?

It’s great to see so many friends in the garden. Hedgehog eats the slugs and snails, ladybirds eat the blackfly and hoverflies of course do a similar job.

Hoverfly

Then there are the ambitious spiders. They seem to want to catch a human. Each morning we have a new web across the back door. It’s a good job I quite like them or I’d never get outside! They of course do their part in keeping pest numbers down, are beautifully marked and quite fascinating to watch. No wonder King Arthur burnt the cakes!  This one made a web on the washing line and I couldn’t resist trying for some shots, despite the breeze, which made the whole thing quite frustrating, but worth it, I think.

Spider

So I don’t have to go far to find friends, photographic subjects and bags of interest to keep me going as long as I keep on gardening. So many advantages from one hobby. Organic food, money-saving, photographic subjects, the satisfaction of doing my little bit for conservation and my own enjoyment – all from one plot. what more could a woman ask?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gilsongardensinc
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 13:58:26

    What delightful photos! I love the ladybug pair! I’d like to blow them up and frame them! Congratulations on your move and keep in touch!

    Reply

  2. 47whitebuffalo
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 17:25:39

    OOOO I adore Jimmy the Hedgehog! LOL. What a cutie.

    Reply

  3. chriscaff
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 17:55:56

    Thank you Gilson and White Buffalo! Packing boxes everywhere at the moment. Jimmy’s just due to get up for his supper so I’m getting his food ready. I fell in love with him, too!

    Reply

  4. Priya
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 11:23:44

    Splendid! Keep gardening and keep photographing. They’re all so beautiful, but I especially like the ladybird friends. They’re cuddling! Was it cold?

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Oct 10, 2011 @ 15:14:14

      Thank you Pirya. No, it was mid-summer but the plant was crowded with ladybirds – there was lots of food for them. These two just looked so cute!

      Reply

  5. PhotoBotos.com
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:51:59

    You have some nice shots Chris!! We have some similar photos on our site http://www.PhotoBotos.com

    If you get a chance you should stop by and say HI!!!

    Have a good one!

    Reply

  6. momentsclicked
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 17:39:34

    I loved the series especially the lady friends… 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lilybell
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 18:17:28

    The ladybug photo is gorgeous! I think that will be my new desktop background when I get home…it is similar to my fuzzy bugs on the Zinnia picture! I love bug pairs!

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Mar 02, 2012 @ 20:28:54

      Again, thanks Lilybell. More phots like this are on my website. I love chasing bugs and shooting them with my camera. Fascinating and sometimes beautiful!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

