NewCamera Radio Remote Success

I put something on my Christmas list this year. I must have been good because Santa brought it for me. I had a remote trigger for my shutter release. A cheap one which worked fine. Until I wanted to use it outside. I then found out it was infra-red and affected by light levels. In fact it didn’t work in bright light so I could do what I’d been aiming for. Birds photography, from a distance. There were two reasons for this. 1/If I was there, behind the camera, given the lenses I have, I was too close and the birds wouldn’t come down. 2/I’m old and it’s cold. I wanted to sit indoors, watch the birds AND get some close up shots.

My new radio controlled remote shutter release does the job nicely. I can point and shoot anything that lands on the feeder I’ve set it for. I turned the ‘beep’ off so I wouldn’t spook my feathered friends, sat back and watched from my conservatory, and presses the trigger. Results! At last. Here are a few of my earliest attempts with my new kit.

bird1

Great Tits,Taken Using My New Radio Remote

bird2

Another Great Tit

bird3

Blue Tit

Of course, the focus can’t be perfect as I’m not stood over the camera, so I have to preset that. I also have to preset exposure time, so if the light was to change dramatically I’d have to go back out and adjust camera settings. But I can use a continuous shooting mode setting on the remote, and simply keep shooting, then cherry pick which images don’t work and which do. Thank goodness for digital cameras.

My next experiment will involve putting food in a more natural spot so I don’t have metal feeders in the image. I also want to capture some of the ground feeders, which I suspect will be a little more difficult, and I’m already anticipating the wildlife in my pond and insect life such as butterflies in the summer. If I can find a spot to focus on with a reasonable chance of success, such as a popular flower, I will try, as butterflies tend to go if they sense you approaching them. A remote would again allow me to get much closer. I’ll let you know how I go.

Image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette Howard
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 13:33:37

    These are such great shots already! I’m sold…I need one! Keep posting! I no longer have time to blog these days but enjoy your posts!

    Reply

    • chriscaff
      Feb 24, 2016 @ 20:08:55

      Thank you Annette! I do when I can, write! Unfortunately that’s not as often as I’d like, but now I have stuff to report will get back on it. Thanks again. xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

